If your account is paused we do not charge you so we cannot apply a discount so it is lost and is not postponed. This is the case for all the discounts or promotions. For example, if you sign up with a three-month discount and you are paused during your third month you would lose the discount in the final month.
The only exception to this is if you refer a member. In this case only, the discount will be applied to your next payment after the pause.